Connect with us


MLB Gold Glove Winners Announced




Now that the World Series is wrapped up, award season is upon us, as the MLB will be handing out the hardware this week.

The first set of awards to be announced were the Gold Glove winners from the American and the National League.

We saw a lot of the usual suspects winning this award, as Nolan Arenado and Matt Chapman collected their annual hardware for being the best two third baseman in baseball.

Arenado has won Gold Gloves in each of his first seven big league seasons, whereas Chapman has now won a Gold Glove in each of his first two full seasons.

Chapman’s teammate Matt Olson won his second-straight Gold Glove as well, for his play across the diamond at first base.

Anthony Rizzo and Kevin Kiermaier each collected their third Gold Gloves at first base and center field respectively. Mookie Betts won his fourth-straight in right field, Zack Greinke earned his sixth and Alex Gordon received his seventh in left field.

The two Gold Glove winning shortstops each won for the second time in their careers, as Nick Ahmed and Francisco Lindor are two of the best.

The remaining eight Gold Glove winners took home the award for the first time, as C J.T. Realmuto, C Roberto Perez, 2B Yolmer Sanchez, 2B Kolten Wong, LF David Peralta, CF Lorenzo Cain and RF Cody Bellinger have now earned the distinction of being named Gold Glovers.

Congratulations to all of those that have been honored for their defense, as there is nothing better to watch in baseball than spectacular defensive play.


Cody Bellinger Wins First Career NL MVP




The Los Angeles Dodgers were the best team in the National League during the regular season, winning an NL-best 106 games.

There is no way the Dodgers would have that much team success if it weren’t for their best player having a career year, as Cody Bellinger was incredible in 2019.

Bellinger already won his first career Gold Glove Award for his defense in right field and a Silver Slugger for his offense, but now he has received the ultimate validation being named the National League Most Valuable Player.

Bellinger was clearly emotional after winning the award, as there is truly no higher honor a player can receive for their own performance.

Bellinger hit .305/.406/.629, with 47 home runs, 115 RBIs and 15 stolen bases.

According to Baseball Reference’s Wins Above Replacement (WAR) stat, Bellinger was the most valuable player in baseball with a league-leading 9.0 WAR.

This is just the first MVP of Bellinger’s young career, but at just 24 years old, it certainly may not be his last.

Continue Reading


Mike Trout Wins Third AL MVP




Mike Trout should be the MVP every year, as there is no doubt he is the best player in baseball.

Coming into this season, Trout had won two MVP’s and finished as the runner-up three times, with his only other full season ending in a top-5 finish in the MVP race.

Trout’s greatness sometimes goes unrecognized by voters, as they try to honor other players when they have a career year. This time however, the voters got it right and rewarded Trout with his third MVP.

Trout was second in the American League in home runs and ninth in RBIs, despite being hurt at the end of the season and playing just 134 games.

You can make the argument that Trout is already a Hall of Famer, after winning his third MVP and putting together an historic eight-year stretch.

Houston Astros third baseman Alex Bregman and Oakland Athletics shortstop Marcus Semien were the other two finalists for MVP, finishing second and third respectively.

Bregman fell just 20 points shy of Trout in the MVP voting, after finishing fifth in the MVP voting last season.

This year, Bregman set career-highs with 41 home runs and 112 RBIs, while leading the American League with 119 walks.

Unfortunately for Bregman, Mike Trout was simply better and will likely continue to dominant the MVP voting in the American League for a very long time.

Continue Reading


Jacob DeGrom Wins Second-Straight NL Cy Young Award




Over the last two seasons, there simply has been no pitcher in baseball better than New York Mets ace Jacob deGrom.

In 2018, deGrom led the MLB with a sparkling 1.70 ERA, en route to his first career Cy Young Award.

While the numbers were not quite as incredible this past season, deGrom still proved to be the best pitcher in the National League and was once again named the NL Cy Young.

DeGrom becomes just the 11th pitcher in MLB history to win back-to-back Cy Young Awards and the first to do so with a Rookie of the Year on their resume as well.

Mets Hall of Famer Tom Seaver was the only other pitcher in MLB history to have multiple Cy Young Awards and a Rookie of the Year, but he never won Cy Young’s in consecutive seasons.

DeGrom clearly earned this award after finishing 2019 with a 2.43 ERA and an NL-leading 255 strikeouts.

Over the past two seasons, deGrom has pitched to an MLB-best 2.05 ERA and has racked up 524 strikeouts, as he is in the company of only Hall of Fame pitchers who have achieved that level of dominance.

For a pitcher that did not make his MLB debut until he was 26 years old, deGrom all of sudden appears to be on a Hall of Fame trajectory.

There is just no way anyone could have seen this coming back in 2014, when deGrom was just trying to stick in the big leagues.

Now deGrom is a three-time All-Star, two-time Cy Young Award winner and a $100-million pitcher after signing a five-year, $137.5 million deal last offseason with the Mets.

He is just one year into that contract, but so far deGrom has been worth every penny.

Continue Reading


  • Where would you like to see @jalen and some of the other top recruits that haven’t committed yet? 
List made by: @evandaniels
  • The future is bright for these 2 young quarterbacks. 24 year old @deshaunwatson & 22 year old @new_era8 are both playing MVP caliber football 🏈
  • 😮 #sctop10 or #scnottop10 ?
  • Which team can you see picking up @kaepernick7 ?
  • advertisement
  • Man on a mission🚀‼️ @balldontstop 
The @warriors dynasty has been the biggest roadblock on the @houstonrockets path to the NBA Finals over the past few  In a recent interview @jharden13 told @stephenasmith that they are winning the 2020 NBA Championship 🏆
  • How do you feel about this?
  • Revenge game for @carmeloanthony ?
  • WOW ‼️ 😮 
How many games is Myles Garrett missing after this one??
  • advertisement
  • THEY FREE’D MELO‼️ @trailblazers got themselves a future Hall of Famer  @carmeloforevermelo

Follow Me!